Enchanting October

Since the end of July, I’ve worked overtime every week with a group of young women who have been passed through the system and slipped through the cracks. It has been really really hard. After the third straight week of dealing with verbal insults, threats of physical harm, and constant tests of will, I was pretty much done. I have one of those personalities that attracts defiance, I guess. Before my last week of work prior to a two weeks’ vacation (more on that next), the suggestion was made that I switch over to working with the boys program. Without having to think, I said yes. I’m hoping that this is a better fit.

It turns out, my new schedule gives me four days off and I’m hoping for a lot of powder chasing, summit attempts, and dog-Thew-snugs.

Two weeks ago, Matthew and I drove out to Colorado in one 16-hour, 1013-mile-push. Normally, we camp in Utah but we were too excited. Friends and family slowly trickled in from all across the country, throughout the week. On Thursday night, I sat on my dad’s balcony in a circle of my closest friends from kindergarten onwards. Matthew and I made eye contact mid-laugh and I was absolutely struck with an indescribable happiness. The next day, we got married. It was perfect and wonderful and I will be reliving the day forever.

We married ourselves in a valley with pines like a cathedral over our heads, surrounded by our loved ones. Beside us, a finger of the Eagle River burbled and behind us, Sheep Mountain sparkled. As we finished the vows we wrote together, a few snowflakes made their way to the ground, despite the late afternoon sunshine. I left my hair wild and we got our shoes dirty. A friend played guitar and sang “This Must Be the Place.” A lot of us cried. Magic.

After the wedding, Thew and I spent a week driving around the Rockies, hiking, drinking, and playing card games. I savored the snow, freezing rain, frosty mornings, and piercing blue sky. We loved on the Wasatches, Wind River range, Tetons, the Sawtooth (Sawteeth?), and the nameless mountains scattered across Nevada. Further North, this time of year, the sun never reaches the middle of the sky. Instead, it traces chord across the top third. It is absolutely enchanting. Being married is also enchanting.

Coming back to the perpetual summer of California from cold fall weather is hard and probably related to seasonal affective disorder. As always, it’s one day at a time with me, except now I’m doing it with the best husband.

I’ll leave you with some wise words from Friend Aidan
“You carry the gentle spirit of autumn with you, and it won’t be long until your mountains welcome you home again.”

IMG_1150

Leave a comment